

South Carolina Council of Teachers of Mathematics

41st Business Meeting Minutes

Date: November 16, 2017 **Location:** TD Convention Center

ATTENDANCE:

Name	Position	Present	Absent
Morondo Lewis	President	\boxtimes	
Leigh Martin	President-Elect	\boxtimes	
Bill Whitmire	Past President	\boxtimes	
Alva R. White	Secretary	\boxtimes	
Terri Dew	Treasurer	\boxtimes	
Jennifer Wilson	VP for Elementary	\boxtimes	
Brenda Elmore	VP for Middle	\boxtimes	
Sherry Young	VP for Secondary	\boxtimes	
Bridget Coleman	VP for Post-Secondary	\boxtimes	
Alisa Hobgood	VP at Large	\boxtimes	
Ryan Higgins	NCTM Representative	\boxtimes	
Christie Reid	Government Relations	\boxtimes	
Sandra Ammons	SCDE Representative	\boxtimes	
Lane Peeler	Commercial Exhibit Manager	\boxtimes	
Bill Gillam	IT Manager	\boxtimes	
Cindy Parker	Database / Membership Manager	\boxtimes	
Ann Senn	Program Manager / Executive Director	\boxtimes	
Gina Dunn	MathMate Editor	\boxtimes	
Marc Drews	EdVenture Museum	\boxtimes	

Start Time: 5:15 pm

I. Call to Order

The 41st Annual Business meeting was called to order with no objections to displaying the minutes from the projector screen because they have already been posted online for viewing.

II. Secretary's Report – approval of the minutes

The minutes from the 40th Annual Business meeting was approved as submitted.

III. Treasurer's Report

The treasurer's report was presented by Terri Dew. The printed report was accepted as submitted. Checking account balance \$62,262.92 and savings account balance \$77,646.21. Both balances are prior to conference expenses.

IV. Recognition of Committee Chairs

All committee chairs were recognized and presented with a gift as a token of appreciation.

V. Award and Grant Scholarship Committee Reports:

Educator's Scholarship

A video of what happens behind the scenes at the conference. She expressed thanks for all the networking and working with preservice teachers. The scholarship for the category is unnamed because there were no applications. Additional information about how to apply can be found online at SCCTM.org.

Pre-Service Teacher Scholarship Awards

The SCCTM Preservice Scholarship was officially declared The Bill Whitmire Preservice Scholarship. Financial assistance in the amount of \$1,500 for three deserving preservice teachers who express their intention to specialize in the teaching of mathematics. This year's recipients are Isabella "Izzie" Arias (Clemson University), Angelina "Lexie" Martin (USC Aiken), and Jean Wolfe (Winthrop).

Mixed Media Contest Winners

Each student winner of the contest will receive \$50. The teacher of each student will receive a one year membership to SCCTM. All winning posters will be on display at EdVenture Museum and shared on Twitter.

Student Winners:

Claire Moore from Cowpens Elementary School Vanessa Guydyk from Cowpens Elementary School Randal Woods from Lamar High School

Teacher Winners:

Wanda Noblin from Cowpens Elementary School Michelle Greene from Lamar High School

End Time: 6:21 pm

Morondo Lewis

Morondo Lewis

Bridget Coleman

Gina Dunn

Jennifer Wilson

Terri Dew

Alva White

Page 3 of 4

Sandra Ammons

Leigh Martin

The two PAEMST State finalists are Alison Espinosa from AC Flora High School and Cathy Stinson from Dent Middle School. The two finalist will be recognized at the January state board meeting and entered into the national award. Applications and nominations for next year are now being accepted. The category for next year is K - 6.

Teacher Grant Awards

Presidential Awardees

Each recipient of a teacher grant will receive \$1,500. The number of teacher grants will be increase next year.

Winners:

- Christie Fricks, Riverside Middle School, Anderson School District 4
 - Repairing the "I'm Bad at Math" Attitude
- Marsha Neal, Hardeeville-Ridgeland Middle School, Jasper County School District

 Let's Mix it All up!
- Deborah Otap, Wando High School, Charleston County Schools
 DRIVENedu

Bill Whitmire Award

This award was present to Mr. Whitmire for his dedication to SCCTM. A plaque was given to him to recognize his retirement. Mr. Whitmire shared his story of he and Mr. Lane Peeler in the beginning years of the organization.

Outstanding Contributions to Math Education Award

This distinguished award was presented to Dr. Ed Dickey. Mary Ruzga shared many contributions and accomplishments about the recipient.

VI. Recognition of Outgoing Officers

The following outgoing officers were recognized for the dedication and service. VP Post -Secondary – Dr. Bridget Coleman VP AT Large – Alisa Hobgood VP Middle – Brenda Elmore Treasurer - Terrie Dew President Elect – Leigh Martin

Additionally, a plaque was presented to Ann Senn for her dedication and service to SCCTM and her retirement.

VII. Passing the Gavel:

The gavel was passed for outgoing president Morondo Lewis to incoming president Leigh Martin. Leigh Martin then reported that approximately 1,000 were registered for the conference. She recognized preservice teachers and pages.

VIII. Installation of New Officers

The installation of the following new officers was conducted by Leigh Martin. VP Post -Secondary – Bridget Coleman

Morondo Lewis

Morondo Lewis

Mary Ruzga

Morondo Lewis to Leigh Martin

Leigh Martin

VP at Large – Alisa Hobgood VP Middle – Eugene Bellamy, Jr. Treasurer – Gina Dunn President Elect – Marc Drews

IX. Past Presidents' Awards

Bill Whitmire was presented with the past presidents award.

X. Door Prize Drawings

Several door prize tickets were pulled and prizes claimed by the winners present.

XI. Announcements

The next annual conference will be held November 14 – 16, 2018 in Columbia, SC. The meeting was adjourned at 6:21 pm.

Leigh Martin

Leigh Martin ent.

Leigh Martin