

# South Carolina Council of Teachers of Mathematics

# 47<sup>th</sup> Annual Business Meeting Minutes

Date: November 16, 2023

Location: TD Convention Center, Greenville, SC

#### **ATTENDANCE:**

Name	Position	Present	Absent
Alisa Hobgood	President	$\boxtimes$	
Eugene Bellamy, Jr.	President-Elect	$\boxtimes$	
Alva R. White	Secretary	$\boxtimes$	
Cassandra Strickland	Treasurer	$\boxtimes$	
Tonya McCullough	VP for Elementary		$\boxtimes$
Michael Small	VP for Middle	$\boxtimes$	
Charlotte Ihme	VP for Secondary		$\boxtimes$
Stephen Bismarck	VP for Post-Secondary	$\boxtimes$	
Chris Higgins	VP at Large	$\boxtimes$	
Marsha Neal	NCTM Representative	$\boxtimes$	
Brantay Cohens	Government Relations		$\boxtimes$
Sandra Ammons	SCDE Representative	$\boxtimes$	
Lane Peeler	Commercial Exhibit Manager		$\boxtimes$
Bill Gillam	IT Manager	$\boxtimes$	
Cindy Parker	Database / Membership Manager Program Manager / Executive Director	$\boxtimes$	
Leigh Martin	MathMate Editor	$\boxtimes$	
Christi Fricks	Special Projects Committee Chair	$\boxtimes$	

Start Time: 4:15 pm End Time: 4:45 pm

#### I. Call to Order

Alisa Hobgood

The 47<sup>th</sup> annual business meeting was officially called to order by President Alisa Hobgood.

# II. Approval of the 46<sup>th</sup> Business Meeting Minutes

Alisa Hobgood

It was moved and properly seconded to approve the minutes from the 46<sup>th</sup> annual business meeting. Members accessed these minutes via the SCCTM website. The motion was unanimously approved.

III. Approval of the 47<sup>th</sup> Annual Business Meeting Agenda Alisa Hobgood It was moved and properly seconded to approve the proposed agenda for the 47<sup>th</sup> annual business meeting. The motion was unanimously approved.

#### IV. Treasurer's Report

**Cassandra Strickland** 

Balance as of July 1, 2023 \$ 75,627.84 Balance as of September 30, 2023 \$ 59,125.28 Balance as of November 16, 2023 \$ 133,163.09

Please note that there are currently outstanding expenses for the 2023 conference. The fiscal year goes from July  $\mathbf{1}^{\text{st}}$  to June  $\mathbf{30}^{\text{th}}$  of the following year.

# V. Recognition of Committee Chairs & Outgoing Officers

Alisa Hobgood

Gifts of appreciation of their service were presented to:

VP At Large – Chris Higgins

VP Middle – Michael Small

VP Post Secondary – Dr. Stephen Bismark

Special thanks to Erica Aiken – Door Prize Committee Chair

## VI. Awards & Recognition

**Stephen Bismark** 

a. Educator's Scholarship Awardees

Maggie Hamm

Hydeia Brown

Seymour Walker

**b.** Pre-Service Teacher Scholarship

Marie Hughes

#### c. Presidential Awardees (PAEMST)

**Sandra Ammons** 

Susan Scott – White Knoll High School Lexington County School District 1 Laura Stewart – R.H. Fulmer Middle School Lexington County School District 2

#### d. Teacher Grant Awardees

**Eugene Bellamy, Jr.** 

Christi McWaters – Aiken County Public Schools
Kim Neal – Newberry College
Amy Kule – Millbrook Elementary Aiken County Public School District

e. Nominations Committee

Alisa Hobgood

Thank you to Deloris Childs for chairing the Nominations Committee.

#### VII. SCCTM's 2023 Honoree

Bill Gillam

**a.** Outstanding Contribution of Mathematics Education Award This year's OCME award recipient is Dr. Bridget Coleman.

VIII. MathMate Leigh Martin

Presenters are encouraged to submit to the MathMate to share their knowledge from this year's conference. The MathMate is now transitioning to also include activities.

#### IX. Election Results

Alisa Hobgood

Congratulations to the newest SCCTM board members:

VP At Large – Rebekah Mattison

VP Middle - Christi Fricks

VP Post Secondary – Kevin LoPresto

# X. 48<sup>th</sup> Annual Conference Announcement

**Alisa Hobgood** 

The 48<sup>th</sup> Annual Business Meeting and Conference will be held in Columbia, SC on November 21 and 22, 2024. The theme is STOP, COLLABORATE, & LISTEN: Thinking Mathematically Together.

#### **XI.** President's Comments

Alisa Hobgood

Please join us for the following activities tomorrow:

Chair Yoga in the atrium 7:55 - 8:30 am

Visit the Exhibit Hall

Coffee with the Presidents at 7:30 am

Mindless Posters and Vendors in the Exhibit Hall

## **XII.** Recognition of Outgoing President

Eugene Bellamy, Jr.

A token of appreciation and words of gratitude were shared for outgoing president Alisa Hobgood.

## XIII. Meeting Adjourned

Eugene Bellamy, Jr.

It was moved and properly seconded to adjourn the 47<sup>th</sup> Annual Business Meeting. The motion was unanimously approved.

### **XIV.** Door Prizes